Refrain (Off the Record #3)

Published by Incantatrix Press
Publication Date: 25th July 2023
Contemporary Erotic Romance 

When your past collides with your present and you wind up broken, so you walk away, lest you break everyone else.

Rock guitarist Spook Mortensen has spent a decade hiding from his traumatic past. Now everyone knows his secrets, and their judgement leaves him broken inside and out. To avoid destroying everything that matters to him, Spook leaves both Black Halo and the woman he loves.

But there’s no running from the demons that lurk in the darkest corners of your soul, because they hitch a ride with you wherever you run.

There doesn’t seem to be a path out of the darkness, until the band’s irresistible, sex-addicted, bad boy frontman swoops in determined to stage an intervention.

Xane’s prepared to do whatever it takes, no matter the sacrifice, to mend the hole in Spook’s heart and ensure he returns to where he belongs – Allegra Hutton’s arms and the Black Halo line-up. What neither of them expects is how intense the bond between them will become.

Refrain is an angsty, spicy, heart-wrenching rockstar romance with flawed characters, broken and damaged souls, intense friendships, all the feels, and a lot of bed sharing.

It’s complicated… okay?

Content Warning: This book contains material that may upset some readers. Subjects include mental illness, depression, anxiety, panic attacks, past physical, mental, and sexual trauma, self-harm, and suicidal ideation. This book contains graphic sexual scenes and strong language. It is written in British English and uses British slang.


Publisher: Incantatrix Press
Cover Artists: